NC State Inspections
State Emissions and Safety Inspections:
Peak Auto in the Cary and Apex area can easily add a State Emissions and Safety Inspections on all of vehicle services when left for the day. State Emissions and Safety Inspections are required by North Carolina State Law. The NC Department of Motor Vehicles no longer uses window stickers as proof. Instead, you can not register or renew your registration with out the required State emissions and or safety inspection.
Peak Auto is now offering NC Vehicle Inspections!
Vehicle Safety Inspection
This inspection is to make sure your vehicle is operating safely. It includes checks to the headlights, accessory lights, directional signals, foot brake, parking brake, steering and windshield wipers. Weather you drive a BMW, Mini, Mercedes Benz, AUDI, Volkswagen. Other import or domestic vehicle, you can trust in Peak Auto for your state inspection.
- Vehicles 35 years old, or older, do not need a safety inspection.
On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) Emissions Inspection
North Carolina is fighting ozone-forming emissions from gasoline-operated cars and light duty trucks. Inspections are conducted using the vehicle’s on-board diagnostic (OBD II) system, computerized equipment installed on all new vehicles since 1996. If you live in one of these counties list you are required to have an emissions inspection.
The following types of vehicles do not need an OBD emissions inspection:
- Model 1995 vehicles, or older
- Diesel-operated vehicles
- Vehicles licensed under the farmer rate
Effective April 1, 2015, vehicles within the three most recent model years with fewer than 70,000 miles might be exempt from an emissions inspection. Find out if your vehicle qualifies.
Effective December 2019, vehicles 20 years older only require safety inspections. NC DOT PRESS RELEASE